‘Fog’tography

I live in North Wales and its a bit out the way; just enough to get to the big towns and cities but only a stone throw from the peace and green serenity of the country side. One thing I can never get my head around is the light pollution in the area and one of the things I hope this blog will highlight is exactly how a large town can have so much. I can see the stars on a clear night quite well, to be fair I can’t remember the last time I went to a big city and actually thought about how disappointing it is to look up to see nothing on a clear night.

Just one more thing, I just cant stop using my 50mm f1.8 lens, I recently bought a 28mm f2.8 hoping for some better images over Christmas to take indoors of my family but I was a little disappointed because it was just too slop. It is a great lens but only really for landscapes and this night was too dark. I didn’t want to walk around town with a tripod especially with so many youths about (last thing I wanted was to use it as a weapon). I’ve also been using the aperture priority function on my camera which I like to do when I want semi control over the speed, I’m still getting used to the shutter speeds so it really comes in handy to take out my camera and snap away with only a little of the control down to the cameras CPU with out the flash going nuts on auto.

Leave a comment